Steps to Creating Your Happiness

If there is nothing I have learned in my almost 21 years in this world, I have learned that happiness must be created. Happiness is not something that should be wished for or prayed for, unless you are going to find within yourself where your true happiness lies. It is not something that will just one day hit you in the head and present itself at full speed. For some people, maybe including myself, if it even was to hit us across the head we still wouldn’t know how to accept it, or even accept ourselves for what we’re worth.

I’ve spent countless days, countless sad days, over analyzing this life of mine and why can’t I ever seem to find happiness. Like happiness never wanted to find me. Then one day I realized, and something I continuously realize each day, that I was the one who had to create it for myself. It involves improving not only your mental health, but the physical and most importantly the emotional. For me, writing has always been that one attachment I had. The one thing in life that I knew was my purpose, that is of course before I had my beautiful daughter. Over this past year I have been taught that we all in life have countless purposes. There are countless reasons that we were put on this earth to impact it in some sort of way. Whether you make that impact negative or positive is completely up to you.

It’s not always easy to find that motivation within yourself to fulfill your in life. But the first and most important thing you must do is to get up and try. Try. Try. Without trying nothing will be accomplished. No happiness, no success. Your life will forever be at a standstill and no one can shove you out the way, only you have to want to move yourself. Support is what you need on those days when maybe your thoughts are running too close together and the words are too heavy for the pages. I was always the one person who felt I didn’t need ANYONE to talk to. And for those many years I felt just how I really was, alone. There are still times when I become a recluse and shut out the world for my own personal development. Some of us thrive best off of being loners. That’s nothing I have ever been ashamed of. My peace and quiet is essential to my mental health. Having a lot of chaos around has always left my mind too cluttered. Everyone needs that chance to get away. Whether you want to be the most popular socialite or not, everyone needs their alone time to refresh your outlook on life.

At some point in your life someone has told you, or you may have heard the saying count your blessings. Well, for the first time a few days ago, I actually took the time out to write down everything in my life that I seen as a blessing. Even the tiny things like having healthy food to eat made me have a new appreciation for life. At times I do get unsatisfied with how things are, but I know in my heart that I must be the one to make those changes. And if there is something so unsatisfying but no way in changing it, that is something that must be accepted or let go completely out of your life. Relinquish any unhappiness that hinders you, alter it or throw it out.

Important things to remember:

1. Maintain a healthy body, mind, and spirit.
-Meditate, drink plenty of water each day, exercise could even be as small as taking walks during the day, eat as healthy as your life allows

2. Surround yourself with support while ignoring the negativity.
-Helpful friends and family, ignore the ones whose opinions completely don’t matter

3. Be yourself
-Do what makes you happy without the fear of being judged, laugh, talk loudly, let your heart smile as wide as you want it to

4. Learn to ignore the negative things
-things to which you know have the power to make you upset or angry, find inner peace within yourself

5. Be honest with yourself and accept your faults
-be honest and specific about the changes you want made in your life, whether the changes are physical or other outside forces, if you can’t be honest with yourself then how can you be honest with others
-No one is perfect, all that matters is you wake up each day and try to be a better person than the day before

6. Love
-Show appreciation even when others don’t show it to you, always find kindness within your heart because your character will greatly benefit from it and happiness opens many doors

When things get cloudy don’t forget to count your blessings, appreciate what you have at the moment and what you maybe didn’t have before, and know that there is always a future to acquire all the things you ever wanted, the non material things matter the most!

Copyright 2012 Ta’Mesha Smith

One thought on “Steps to Creating Your Happiness

  1. These are really good tips. I wrote a similar post recently actually! It took me until around 27, 28 years to learn some of what you’ve learned at 21. 🙂

Leave a Reply

