True Passion is …

My daughter comes first, before all, and then there is writing. I breathe it, I smell it, I taste it, it is apart of me. It is me, I am a writer. It has always been a very important part of my life because before I had my daughter, it’s all I had. The only thing I knew would listen to me and not judge me for who I was because it knew what I had the potential to be. Helping me through every obstacle that my choices brought me and even things that were beyond my control. It’s funny how the ideas of writing are infinite. It brings me peace, hope, happiness, a satisfaction that I can get no where else. She is my first love and keeps me going while writing is my outlet. When I write poetry it takes soul searching to find the perfect words to place next to each other. Create a picture in words so you can see what I see. Writing until my hands are numb and the stings have begun to surface. That is passion to me. Writing so fast because there’s so much flowing out of my mind, even I can’t keep up. I used to ask God why I thought so much, so deep and the way I did, it was a curse to me, but God didn’t give in. And I am beyond thankful for my gift. I could have nothing, no hands, or be brain dead. Nor do I take it for granted because it can easily be taken away if I don’t use it to the best of my abilities.

Copyright 2012 Ta’Mesha Smith

One thought on “True Passion is …

Leave a Reply

