Autumn’s Loneliness

The leaves follow me as I travel this road alone,
Beyond the darkest pathways.
They crawl at my feet,
Rattling over the concrete as my soul begins to crumble.
Drowning within this rain drop,
My dew points rise as the tears begin to bubble.

The grass became more green for a moment,
As my shade escaped into hiding.
But as the sun dried,
My withering garden began to bloom.
The sweetest smell of loneliness.

Piles of colorful debris cling to my coattail,
Leaving behind a “find my way home” trail.
A vintage bench speaks to me as I walk by.
As I sit there,
Washed out by my despair,
As I sit there,
Emptiness embodies me.

Copyright 2012 Ta’Mesha Smith

Leave a Reply

