Egoless

I tripped over my ego as I was walking
Fell flat on my face
And as I looked back I could see my veins pulsating
With the pen sticking out
Had I written my own fate
With no more sun shining on my face
The darkness of the pavement becomes me
Evil strikes my spirit
Making my becomings full of delirious
Strange happenings
This just can’t be happening

My confidence promised to never let me down
Even while I walk around with a smile
It would never betray me and unleash my frown
I thrive in a perpetrating environment
Purposely surrounding myself with ugliness and clowns
So I always look good
Never misunderstood where everybody loves me
But it’s fake

Courage is scarce
And I run at the first signs of adversity
This just can’t be happening
Taking off the mask that I had perfectly painted
To give you this full illusion that I could really do this
I can’t continue on like this
As I crawl back to my truth
I realize this is what a life full of lies will do

Who am I?
Who have I become?

Copyright 2012 Ta’Mesha Smith

2 thoughts on “Egoless

  1. I think it’s interesting how you start the piece in the past tense (I tripped) and then move to the present tense (the darkness of the pavement becomes me) and then allude to the future (I can’t continue on like this).

Leave a Reply

