Caught In a Danger Zone

Caught in a danger zone
Where hope is buried deep beneath the bushels
The loud bombshells dropping deep within my stomach
As the smog clouds the space around my heart
Things become clearer to me

Bullets aimed straight forward to pierce the lining of my throat
So when I try to speak the words won’t come out
Huffing and puffing trying to get my peace onto the battle field
The enemy lies within
Telling fibs to my faith

Like I won’t make it to victory
My pride won’t be submissive to defeat
It’s a one way street and paths can’t be backtracked
Only move forward and keep going
Because the war will never be over

Copyright 2013 Ta’Mesha Smith

Leave a Reply

